Summer Grand Prix

The Summer Grand Prix (SGP) is a series of races which are run from April through to August.
As well as our own two mile handicap races; the series comprises a variety of popular and challenging events, including the Wallsend Harriers Club Championship – which is the pinnacle of our own club racing calendar.

The reigning SGP champion is Donna Thompson.

Our 4 SGP handicap races take place around the tracks of the Rising Sun Country Park, starting at the Barking Dog.
They usually take place on a Tuesday evening, where we gather at 6.30pm with a 6.45pm start.

The dates for this years SGP handicap races are as follows:

  • Tues April 17th
  • Tues May 29th
  • Tues June 26th
  • Tues August 7th


The following events will also count towards SGP scoring:

  1. North Tyneside 10k – Sun 1st April
  2. Blyth 10k – Sun 8th April
  3. Terry O’Gara Memorial 5k – Sun 22nd April
  4. Track & Field 1, Gateshead – Sat 5th May
  5. Gordon Smith Relays – Wed 9th May
  6. Pier 2 Pier – Sun 20th May
  7. Clive Cookson 10k – Wed 23rd May
  8. Track & Field 2, Middleborough – Sun 3rd June
  9. Newburn River Run – Wed 13th June
  10. Weetslade Relays – Wed 20th June
  11. Tynedale 10k – Wed 4th July
  12. Track & Field 3, Hexham – Sun 8th July
  13. Sunderland 5k – Thu 12th July
  14. Club Championships – Tue 17th July
  15. Track & Field 4, Darlington – Sat August 4th
  16. Quayside 5k – Wed August 15th
  17. Any Marathon ran during April through August can also be included.


Scoring is a combined total of:

  • 2 x best SGP races
  • 3 x best Road races
  • 1 x Relay or Track & Field event (run, jump or throw)



View previous years’ results here