Winter Grand Prix

The WGP is a handicap race on a fast 3 mile course starting opposite the Village Hotel on the Cobalt Business Park.

It takes place on a Tuesday (roughly once a month) from September to end of March.

It is one full lap and then a partial lap (Refer to map). All those participating should meet at the car park opposite the Village Hotel at 6.30pm for a 6.45pm start.

This season there are additional races held elsewhere that count towards the WGP results table, so if you miss one of our internal competitions (held at Cobalt) you can make up your points by taking part in one of the other races taking place across the region, including the North East Harrier League X-Country series.

Full List of  2017/18 Winter Grand Prix Races:

From the following list you must run in 3 road/relays and 3 of our own winter grand prix races at Colbalt. You also receive five points for every NEHL XC race.

Saturday 30 September – North East Harrier League (NEHL) XCountry 1 – Wrekenton

Sunday 8 October – NEHL XCountry 2 – Druridge Bay

Tuesday 17 October – WGP1

Saturday 28 October – Sherman Cup (xcountry) – Temple Park, South Shields

Tuesday 7 November – WGP2

Sunday 12 November – Heaton 10k Memorial Race – Town Moor

Saturday 18 November – NEHL XCountry 3 – Aykley Heads, Durham

Sunday 19 November – Brampton to Carlisle 10 miles

Tuesday 5 December – WGP3 (Doug Bramley)

Saturday 9 December – North Eastern XC Championships – Redcar

Saturday 23 December – Saltwell 10k

Monday 1 January – New Year’s Day Race (5 miles with obligatory handshake)

Saturday 6 January – NEHL XCountry 4 – Herrington Country Park, Sunderland

Sunday 14 January – Durham Cathedral Relays

Tuesday 16 January – WGP4

Saturday 27 January – Northern XCountry Championships -Leeds

Saturday 10 February – NEHL XCountry 5 – Thornley Hall Farm, Peterlee

Saturday 17 February – Signal Relays, Hetton

Saturday 24 February – Naitonal XC Championships, London

Saturday 3 March – NEHL XCountry 6 – Alnwick Castle

Tuesday 13 March – WGP5

Sunday 25 March – Northern 12 and 6 stage relays

Any one marathon during the WGP series

The full table of races is here.

For more details on the XC races listed visit the North East Harrier League website.

Results

View previous years’ results here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *