Winter Grand Prix

The WGP is a handicap race on a fast 3 mile course starting opposite the Village Hotel on the Cobalt Business Park.

It takes place on a Tuesday (roughly once a month) from September to end of March.

It is one full lap and then a partial lap (Refer to map). All those participating should meet at the car park opposite the Village Hotel at 6.30pm for a 6.45pm start.

This season there are additional races held elsewhere that count towards the WGP results table, so if you miss one of our internal competitions (held at Cobalt) you can make up your points by taking part in one of the other races taking place across the region, including the North East Harrier League X-Country series.

Full List of  2016/17 Winter Grand Prix Races:

Sun 1st Oct – XC Wrekenton

Sun 9th Oct – XC Druridge Bay

Tues 18th Oct – WGP

Sat 5th Nov – Rising Sun Park Run (50 points, Wallsend Harriers take over run)

Sun 13th Nov – Heaton 10k Memorial Race, Town Moor

Sat 19th Nov – XC, Temple Park, South Shields (Sherman Cup)

Sun 20th Nov – Brampton to Carlisle 10 miles

Sat 26th Nov – XC, Peterlee (1)

Tues 6th Dec – WGP, Doug Bramley Cup

Sat 10th Dec – NECAA XC Championships (xmas party in the evening!)

Fri 1st Jan – New Year’s Day WGP, Wallsend Centurion Golf Club  (5 miles with obligatory hangover!)

Tues 7th Jan – XC Herrington Country Park

Sat 14th Jan – Durham Cathedral Relays

Tues 17th Jan – WGP

Tues 31st Jan – WGP

Sat 11th Feb – XC Peterlee (2)

Sat 18th Feb- Signal Relays

Sat 4th March – XC Alnwick

Tues 14th March – WGP 

To be in with a chance to win, you must have completed at least 1x WGP, 1x XC and 2x road/relay races. We have also included a parkrun on the 5th November (takeover date) where you can score 50 points whether you volunteer or run. Once again the best 4 WGP/Parkrun points are scored, and an additional 5 points per XC (increasing by 5 points per race) are awarded. Your best 2 of 4 Road / relay events are scored.

For more details on the XC races listed visit the North East Harrier League website.


View previous years’ results here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *